Duterte: God will be angry if I become President

BY ROGER M. BALANZA

Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte said “God has given me everything in life,” and would not risk being called “greedy” by the Almighty by seeking the Presidency in 2016.

“God might call me greedy,”  Duterte, whose high rating in surveys placed him among the top three contenders to the presidency, said at the Gikan sa Masa para sa Masa television program on ABS/CBN on April 19.

I see no reason to be President. God has given me everything, he said in the program hosted by lawyer Geraldine Tiu.

I have received enough accolades in my lifetime. You don’t bring titles to heaven. What will I gain from being President? said Duterte, who has been Davao City Mayor for more than 20 years.

Duterte, 70, also said his age would be a burden and he may not able to cope up with the job.

Known as a hard-working mayor, Duterte is known to drive a taxi overnight to personally help monitor Davao City’s nocturnal peace and order situation.

I work 28 hours a day as mayor’ he said, adding the presidency would demand more time from him.

He said he does not want to work 40 hours a day as President doing his best to solve the country’s woes and then get charged for various crimes when he bows out of office.

The presidency will give me nothing but worries considering the problems of the country, he said.

I would rather be mayor until the end of my lifetime, he said.

Leave a Reply

